Kids on a School Bus

When I asked folks at the Shanbhag School the best way to travel to Kodkani (about 15 kms from Kumta) to see Shilpa’s parents, they recommended that I ride the School bus. On Saturdays, school ends at noon and the bus drops off students in Kodkani. Riding the bus would thus bring me in Kodkani in time for lunch. And another experience to notch!

Leaving the school, the bus was packed! I felt guilty as a seat was saved for me. But gave me a chance to take a few pics.

Little kids from the adjacent primary school got the pride of place next to the driver. At each stop, the conductor would literally carry a little one and hand them over to one of their parents waiting at the stop. Then joyously they would scamper away.


The kids were superbly well behaved and engaged in mindless banter the entire way. This kid looked at me suspiciously the entire ride.

A bunch just behind me.

One of the spiffy school buses. Here in Kumta, cows are an ubiquitous presence. Chewing cud, this calf sauntered in just in time to have its pic taken. πŸ™‚ As M had not accompanied me to Kumta, this pic elicited the well expected: “sooooo cute!” That was for the calf, not the bus.

Kids on a School Bus

17 thoughts on “Kids on a School Bus

  1. Glad to see the “yellow bus” there too Arun!! THEY ARE suspicious of you! ;D

    Glad they didn’t stone you though! HeHe!! Cow besides the bus is soooo typical of India, eh?

    I will be on Spring break until May, see you then. Enjoy the flowers and the birds!:)

  2. Ha hA! Asha Glad they did not stone me! see, they realized I am nice!
    πŸ™‚
    was pleased to see the yellow buses too! and particularly the conductors crossing the streets with the little kids.

    And Spring Break till May? WoW! Yeah, I remember you heading to the beach! Have fun and pack the sunscreen!
    And have a relaxing time with family and friends.

  3. Thank you Jennifer:

    Happy faces indeed; It is always such a pleasure to immerse myself in the local life. I get to experience the true heart of the people.

    BTW, the Konkan Ed Trust does a fabulous job of managing their schools – so the credit goes to their leadership. Outstanding folks doing superb work! I don’t do much, just go and talk and meet and take pics! πŸ™‚

  4. thank you Sia!
    Tell me about nostalgia! At times I wonder what I am doing here for a few more bucks; while my heart is really there.

    neways – heh! you must be preparing for your trip and the wedding! I can only imagine the “galatta” and fun in the family!

    we are visiting bharat in july! :-))

  5. πŸ™‚ Cute pics Arun. Am going there this weekend. Will here about you again from aayi. Wish you could come now so that even I would have met you. When I was growing up, we didn’t have the buses. I am glad that conditions are so much better now.

  6. O Shilpa – Thank you so very much!

    And when you visit Kodkani – don’t talk about me, just spend time with your family and friends and visiting the local places.

    Wish I was there in Kumta too! πŸ™‚ But we are going to Mumbai in July and I will take an extra week and visit Kumta.

    Have a fabulous trip home and give my regards to your wonderful parents.

    Hopefully, you will be coming back with more delicious recipes to share with us :-))

    Bon Voyage!

  7. Wonderful post. Hey, guess what, the girl right in front (purple rubber-band & 2 plaits ) in the 3rd pic is my cousin from Herwatta :)..

  8. Ha hA! that is a coincidence Maya;

    Guess she must be related to me too πŸ˜‰
    The joys of living in the Konkan. Everyone knows everyone else and their business too πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing that.
    Arun

  9. “small calfs”
    yes Katie, the cows in India are tiny compared to the huge holsteins and others here in the US.

    See, they need to maneuver the traffic on the roads and else. :-))
    Also, I think there might be an enhanced perspective effect because of the use of a wide-angle lens. But they are much smaller than here.

    πŸ™‚

Leave a comment